Notable Alumni and Faculty

Fowler College of Business

  SSE-3220 |    619-594-5259  |   [email protected]
  Monday–Friday   8:00am–4:30pm

The Fowler College of Business is proud of its many distinguished alumni and faculty members renowned for their expertise and success in their fields.


Alumni Awards of Distinction

Costco logo

James D. Sinegal

‘99 LHD,
Former CEO


Jack in the Box Inc logo

Linda Lang

‘91 MBA
Former Chairman & CEO
Jack in the Box Inc.


Qualcomm logo

Dee Coffman

‘76 Accounting
Founding CFO
Qualcomm Incorporated


Ernst & Young logo

Raymond V. Dittamore

‘66 Accounting
Former Partner
Ernst & Young


Rubios Coastal Grill logo

Ralph Rubio

‘78 Education
Rubio’s Coastal Grill


Petco Animal Supplies logo

Catherine Stiefel

‘92 Accounting
Former Assistant Controller
Petco Animal Supplies


NASA logo

Christine Probett

‘85 Sociology, ‘87 Aerospace Engineering, ‘97 EMBA
Lecturer of Management & Information Systems, Fowler College of Business
Former Aerospace Executive, NASA


Dell Corporation logo

Andrew Esparza

‘81 Management
Former Chief Human Resources Officer
Dell Corporation, Baker Hughes


Corky McMillin Companies logo

Mark McMillin

‘79 Marketing
Former President & CEO
Corky McMillin Companies


Sempra Energy logo

Mark Snell

‘80 Accounting
Former President
Sempra Energy

Pierce Education Properties logo

Frederick Watson Pierce, IV

‘84 Finance, ‘88 MBA
Founder, President & CEO
Pierce Education Properties

AMN Healthcare logo

Susan Nowakowski

‘89 MBA
CEO, President & Director
AMN Healthcare Services

Tocagen Partners logo

Tom Darcy

‘73 Accounting
Director, Executive VP and CFO
Tocagen Partners

West Health logo

Bill Earley

‘86 Finance
Former COO/General Counsel
West Health

Leaf & Cole logo

William E. Cole

‘57 Accounting
Leaf & Cole, LLP

FPA Multifamily logo

Greg Fowler

‘83 Finance
Managing Partner and Founder
FPA Multifamily

Entertainment Partners logo

Rebecca Harshberger

'84 Marketing
VP and Practice Leader of Payroll Tax
Entertainment Partners

Ralph R. Pesqueira

‘57 Business
Owner & President
El Indo Shops Inc.


Gerald Davee

‘58 Management
Former Partner
Luce, Forward, Hamilton & Scripps


Art Flaming

‘60 Marketing
Founder & CEO
The Tierra Corporation

F. Duwaine Townsen

‘63 Accounting
Founder and Managing Partner
Ventana Growth Funds


R. Michael Pack

‘70 Finance
Owner & CEO
SunCal Outdoor Advising


Stephen Coslik

‘71 Finance
Chairman & CEO
The Woodmont Company

Randy J. Johnson

‘76 Marketing
Former Vice President
SBC Global


Craig Stevens

‘82 Finance
Founder, Mar West Ventures
Co-founder, Sea Point Partners, Inc.


Art Nicholas

‘72 Finance
Nicholas-Applegate and Nicholas Investment


Honorary Doctorates

James Sinegal, ’99

Ronald Fowler, ’05

Malin Burnham, ’09

Leonard Lavin, ’12

Linda Lang, ‘13

Susan Salka, ’16

Harold Brown, ‘17

Sally Roush, ‘19

Dianne Bashor, '22


Alumni Association's Outstanding Faculty Contributor Award



Kamal Haddad

Kamal Haddad, Ph.D.

Department Chair/Professor
[email protected]
619-594-5311 |  SSE-3314

Year Awardee
2020-21 Chamu Sundaramurthy
2019-20 Janie Chang
2018-19 Bongsik Shin
2017-18 Murray Jennex
2016-17 Martina Musteen
2015-16 Gary Grudnitski
2014-15 Mehdi Salehizadeh
2013-14 Gerald Whittenburg
2012-13 Don Sciglimpaglia
2011-12 James Beatty
2010-11 Bruce Reinig
2009-10 Kathy Krentler
2008-09 Alex DeNoble
2007-08 Mickey Belch
2006-07 David Ely
2005-06 Nikhil Varaiya
2004-05 Ken Marino
2003-04 George Belch
2002-03 David Hampton
2001-02 Chee Chow
2000-01 Mark Butler
1999-00 Thomas Warschauer
1998-99 Penny Wright
1997-98 Pieter Vandenberg
1996-97 Michael Hergert
1995-96 Theophilus Addo
1994-95 James Lackritz
1993-94 George Belch
1992-93 William Sherrard
1991-92 Milton Chen
1990-91 Gretchen Vik
1989-90 Gerald Whittenburg
1988-89 Michael Hergert
1987-88 Chee Chow
1986-87 Charles Lamden
1985-86 David Belcher
1984-85 James Beatty