Facebook Pixel The San Diego State Fowler College of Business Graduation 2018 | Fowler College of Business | SDSU

Stories and Articles

Fowler College of Business Graduates Set New Record

Graduation 2018

Fowler College of Business Sets Record Number of Graduates


Dr. Pablo Machado with three of his students

Accounting professor, Pablo Machado, with three of his students

The Fowler College of Business held its annual commencement ceremony at Viejas Arena on May 12, 2018. There were 1,851 students graduating during the 2017 – 2018 academic year, with 1,631 of those students earning undergraduate degrees and 220 earning master’s degrees. There were 1,499 eligible students attending commencement ceremonies this year.

The 1,639 set a record for the number of undergraduate degrees conferred by the Fowler College of Business, surpassing the previous mark of 1.281 set during the 2016 – 2017 and 2008 – 2009 academic years (tie).

Each year, the top graduate and undergraduate students from each department are recognized by the college as they sit on the stage with their most influential faculty member during commencement ceremonies. The top students and most influential faculty members for 2018 were:

Accounting:  Lizzette Anahy and Paul Sager
Finance:  Murat Sayir and Frank Ryan
General Business: Cesar Andalon and Dr. Theo Addo
Management Information Systems:  Taylor Bianco and Christine Probett
Management:  Sarah Schuelzle and Bernhard Schroeder
Marketing:  Margaret Kirby and Dr. Erlinde Cornelis

Lizzette Anahy also earned the honor of being named 2018’s Most Outstanding Undergraduate student at the Fowler College of Business.

Mortar Board

Some student sported decorded mortar boards

MS Accounting: Mohammed Shoaib and Dr. Damon Fleming
MBA: Jamont Jones Jr. and Dr. Fred Raafat
MS Business Administration: Luciana Risty and Dr. Marie-Eve Lachance
MS Information Systems: Prarit Lamba and Dr. Bruce Reinig

These students, along with all other business students graduating with distinction, were recognized the evening of May 11 during the annual Fowler College of Business Honors Recognition ceremony and reception.